Moving house and training…

…turns out these two things aren’t at all compatible!

Everyone says moving house is really stressful, but they don’t tell you how utterly tiring it is. I’ve had almost a week where my training time has consisted of packing boxes, packing more boxes, moving boxes, cleaning floors, unpacking boxes, dusting furniture, hoovering, mopping, unpacking more boxes…

My legs feel tight and itching to run, but the rest of me feels physically drained. While I’ve had a week off training, the house move has taken its toll and I’ve made it to the weekend feeling exhausted.

I know the best thing is to rest, but I can’t help but feel disappointed that I’ve lost a week of training but don’t feel rested at the end of it. Hopefully a few days of downtime and a light recovery run will see me through, then next week I can get back in the saddle (literally).

On the plus side: the new house is just lovely!

Leave a comment